

EUROPEAN CIVIL AVIATION CONFERENCE

CONFÉRENCE EUROPÉENNE DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

Press Release No. 1/2014 English only

Improving the competitiveness of the European air transport sector

Paris, 1 July 2014 — How can European air transport competitiveness be improved? This question will be discussed at the ninth in a series of ECAC/EU Dialogues with the European air transport industry, which will be held on 3 and 4 July in Vienna (Austria). Organised by the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC) in cooperation with the European Commission and the Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology, the event will bring together more than 150 senior-level aviation decision-makers and industry leaders to explore the role of governments and industry in improving the competitiveness of the European air transport sector. It is expected that a number of short- and long-term recommendations regarding this issue will be presented at the close of the Dialogue. Thirty high-level speakers representing regulators and the aviation industry including Raymond Benjamin (ICAO), João Aguiar Machado (European Commission), Tony Tyler (IATA), and James Hogan (Etihad) will speak at the event, which will be opened by the ECAC President, Catalin Radu.

More information, including the up-to-date programme, can be found on the ECAC Web site www.ecac-ceac.org.

For further information, please contact preverdy@ecac-ceac.org.

— END —

NOTE TO EDITORS

The European Civil Aviation Conference brings together the widest grouping of States of any European organisation dealing with civil aviation, being currently composed of 44 Member States (see list below). Based in Paris, ECAC has since 1955 promoted the continued development of a safe, efficient and sustainable European air transport system. In so doing, it seeks to harmonise civil aviation policies and practices amongst its Member States, and to promote understanding on policy matters between its Member States and other regions of the world. A policy statement on "ECAC's Strategy for the Future" can be found on the <u>ECAC Web site</u>.

ECAC's Member States are: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.