EUROPEAN CIVIL AVIATION CONFERENCE



CONFÉRENCE EUROPÉENNE DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

Press Release No. 1/2013E 4 October 2013

EUROPE SECURES EIGHT SEATS ON ICAO COUNCIL

Paris, 4 October 2013 — The European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC) has secured eight seats on the new Council of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

ICAO is the highest international body governing the regulation of international civil aviation. Located in Montreal, Canada, ICAO is a specialised agency of the United Nations with 191 Member States.

During the 38th Assembly held from 24 September to 4 October, ICAO Member States, represented by more than 2000 delegates, elected the 36 members of the Council.

The ECAC Member States represented on the new Council are **France, Germany, Italy, Norway** (representing the NORDICAO Group, i.e. Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden), **Portugal** (representing the ABIS Group, i.e. Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland, Portugal and Switzerland), **Poland** (representing CERG i.e. Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia), **Spain** and the **United Kingdom.**

For further information, please contact jvanlieshout@ecac-ceac.org.

NOTE TO EDITORS

The European Civil Aviation Conference brings together the widest grouping of States of any European organisation dealing with civil aviation, being currently composed of 44 Member States (see list below). Based in Paris, ECAC has since 1955 promoted the continued development of a safe, efficient and sustainable European air transport system. In so doing, it seeks to harmonise civil aviation policies and practices amongst its Member States, and to promote understanding on policy matters between its Member States and other regions of the world. A policy statement on "ECAC's Strategy for the Future" can be found on the <u>ECAC</u> Web site.

ECAC's Member States are: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.

- END -